Have your say on key planning document for Northumberland

Latest planning applications.

Latest planning applications.

0
Have your say

Consultation opens tomorrow on the final draft of a key planning document for Northumberland.

This is the final opportunity to have a say on the core strategy before it is submitted to Government for independent examination. The strategy sets out the council’s planning priorities for Northumberland in the future – which include policies to support the creation of 10,000 additional jobs by 2031 and extending choice in the housing market.

It defines the amount of development needed in the next two decades for future jobs, houses and facilities, as well as where these should go, and how the environment will be protected. Future planning applications will be decided based on the document.

This is the fifth large-scale consultation on the core strategy, and at each stage the council has listened to views and comments and amended the document taking feedback into account.

In line with Government rules, comments on this draft must be made around the ‘soundness’ of the document, whether it has been ‘positively prepared’, is ‘justified’, will be ‘effective’ and is in line with national policy.

Coun Allan Hepple, cabinet member for economic growth at Northumberland County Council, said: “The council wants to see Northumberland grow and prosper, with vibrant local communities, more jobs, more residents of working age and a greater choice in the housing market. We believe that we now have a strategy that will deliver this for the county, while still protecting everything that is special about Northumberland.

“The core strategy is an extremely important document and I urge people to come along to a drop in event or to look at this final draft, before it is submitted to Government for examination.”

Twenty-three drop-in events have been arranged at venues across Northumberland, where residents will be able to find out more, and ask questions of council officers. A leaflet has been posted through every door in the county telling people about the consultation and how to have their say as well as providing details of the drop-in events.

At the events in Morpeth, Rothbury and Ponteland, council officers and other representatives will be attending to present proposals and seek views and feedback on new school buildings and leisure facilities in Morpeth and Ponteland.

The draft strategy, all of the evidence work that supports it and feedback forms are also on Northumberland County Council’s website. This is a statutory consultation and all comments must be received by Wednesday, November 25.

Following this consultation, it is expected that the core strategy will be submitted to Government in March 2016, with the examination taking place during that summer. The plan could then be adopted in autumn 2016.

Details of drop-in events are:

Hexham - Sat 24 Oct - 10am - 3pm - Prospect House

Amble - Mon 26 Oct - 2pm - 7pm - Development Trust

Allendale - Tues 27 Oct - 2pm - 4.30pm - Library

Berwick - Wed 28 Oct - 2pm - 7pm - Town Hall

Ashington - Thurs 29 Oct - 2pm - 7pm - Library

Alnwick - Sat 31 Oct - 10am - 3pm - St James Community Hall

Haydon Bridge - Mon 2 Nov - 2pm - 7pm - Community Centre

Blyth - Tues 3 Nov - 2pm -7pm - Library

Rothbury - Wed 4 Nov - 2pm - 7pm - Jubilee Hall

Prudhoe - Wed 4 Nov - 2pm - 7pm - Spetchells Centre

Choppington - Thurs 5 Nov - 2pm - 7pm - Social Welfare Centre

Ponteland - Sat 7 Nov - 10am - 3pm - Memorial Hall

Morpeth - Mon 9 Nov - 2pm - 7pm - Corn Exchange

Seaton Delaval - Mon 9 Nov - 2pm - 7pm - Seaton Valley Council Offices

Bedlington - Tues 10 Nov - 2pm - 7pm - Community Centre

Wooler - Wed 11 Nov - 2pm - 7pm - Cheviot Centre

Corbridge - Thurs 12 Nov - 2pm - 7pm - Parish Hall

Newbiggin - Sat 14 Nov - 10am - 3pm - Leisure Centre

Cramlington - Tues 17 Nov - 2pm - 7pm - Library

Seahouses - Wed 18 Nov - 2pm - 7pm - Sports and Community Centre

Bellingham - Wed 18 Nov - 2pm - 6pm - Library

Belford - Thurs 19 Nov - 2pm - 7pm - Bell View

Haltwhistle - Sat 21 Nov - 10am - 3pm - Library