Musicians on song at festival

Young musicians were on song as they performed in a popular annual festival.

aThe 103th Wansbeck Music Festival took place at KEVI and St George’s UR Church in Morpeth, the YMCA in Ashington, and NECA in Ashington.

Prizewinners from the recorder classes were – descant recorder solo: Courtney Lucas (U8), Constance Hayward (U11) Tamsin Reed (U13) and treble, tenor and the sightreading.

Descant duet and treble duet: Ella Ray and Emma Rennison; descant and treble duet: Olivia Sprudd and Chelsea Ford, who also won the duet on any two recorders.

Trio descant treble and tenor: Hirst Park Middle. Millennium Plate: Keely Burton, Ede Trophy: Tamsin Reed.

Woodwind – solo: Catherine Walker, and duet with Sarah Walker.

School choirs – Bede Academy Primary (U11 song), Hirst Park Middle U13), Cramlington Learning Village (U18).

Hymn – Hirst Park Middle School(U13), Cramlington Learning Village (U16 and U18). Gladys Willis Memorial Cup was won by Morpeth First School, and Mowbray Primary School took home the Ella Davidson Memorial Cup.

Steel band – Bedlington Station Primary (U11), KEVI (U16).

Steel pan solo: Tamsin Reed (U13), Sarah Williams(U16), Elwin Marshall (Open). Steel pan ensemble: Tamsin Reed and Claire Simpson U13), Ebony Wootton, May Waldock and Emily Robson U16), Fiona Matthewson, Scarlet Mercer, Karla Kem and Catherine Simpson (Open).

Strings – solo: Charlotte Waldron (U13), Matthew Forster (U16, U18 and the Jeannie Madison Memorial Trophy).

Guitar solos: Oscar Huan Xi (U13, U16 and U18), Daniel Newbury (Open).

Guitar ensemble, ceilidh band and ukelele band: Hirst Park Middle; percussion band: Central First Beats Club; percussion solo: Sarah Scott.

Vocal solo: Erica Savage (U9), Pamelina Oubinova (12 and under) and in the 18 and under song from a show or film; Isabella Redmayne (15 and under solo), and song from a show or film.

Piano – solo: Sophie Scott (U9), Heighleigh Shek U11), Ben Forster (U13 and U16), Edgar Huan Heng (U18 and Open).

Peggy Bell Cup, Morpeth Town Council Bursary: Ben Forster, Elsie Tunney Memorial Cup: Anna Corcoran, took Audrey Stimpson Bursary: Tamsin Reed.