Comrades B and Breakers A win doubles as Sports D take Champion of Champions

The Blyth Valley Pool Association, sponsored by Breakers Pool Bar, staged the second week of its season ending Festival of Pool.

Wednesday, 1st June 2016, 6:23 pm
Updated Wednesday, 1st June 2016, 7:28 pm

This week’s action included the finals nights for both the Super League and Premier League Doubles competitions as well as staging the second Champion of Champions Knockout.

Super League Doubles

In the Super League the semi-finalists were from 4 different teams with Matt Brannan & Jamie Barbour representing the Irish A, Ray Irving & James Taylor Comrades B, Jason Watson & Ayton Stewart Bedlington Station & finally Ian Clark & Steven Foggett from the Comrades A.

The 1st Semi Final was an all Comrades affair with Ray Irving & James Taylor winning a final frame decider against Ian Clark & Steven Foggett. In the 2nd Semi Final Matt Brannan & Jamie Barbour beat Jason Watson & Ayton Stewart 4-2 to seal their place in the final.

Whilst the Semi Finals had been close matches, the Comrades B pairing of Ray Irving & James Taylor sealed the final with a 4-1 victory. The victory was all the more special as the pair have not played doubles together in any Super League matches this year but have really gelled as a pairing.

Premier League Doubles

In the Premier League it was a different story with the Wharton Arms dominating with 3 teams in the final including David Young & Christopher Stone, Gavin Stewart & Freddy Chambers & finally Andrew Cunningham & Jamie Spratt. Premier League Champions Breakers A were represented by Trevor Brewis & Robert Riley.

In the first semi final Brewis & Riley took a 2-0 lead with some clinical finishing, Young & Stone won the 3rd frame to stop the rot, but the Breakers pairing took the 4th frame only for Young & Stone to pull another frame back. A tense 6th frame was won by Brewis & Riley to seal the match 4-2.

In the 2nd semi final 2 of the Wharton Arms teams would battle it out for a final spot. Spratt & Cunningham took the first 2 frames only for Chambers & Stewart to take the next 2 & tie the match at 2-2. The 5th frame went to Spratt & Cunningham before Stewart & Chambers tied the match with a break & dish. The final frame ended up being a very tactical one which was just edged by Spratt & Cunningham as they sealed their place in the final.

The final saw Spratt & Cunningham take the 1st frame, but a missed black & an excellent double on the black from Trevor Brewis leveled the match & also the momentum of the game as the Breakers A pairing punished any mistakes as they took the next 3 frames to seal the match 4-1 & become the 1st ever Premier League doubles champions.

Champion of Champions

Last years event was played as a single frame shootout, but this year the competition was changed to a best of 3 frames contest, with the final played over the best of 5 frames. With a 23 player field including last years Champion Kevin Barker & a number of players also involved in the doubles events ensured some on the spot planning of games would be necessary to ensure all the events ran smoothly. The Quarter finals saw Lee Cook beat Trevor Brewis 2-0, Kevin Sams beat Guy Mannix 2-0, Phil Welch beat Adam Scott 2-0 & Kevin Barker beat Jamie Spratt 2-0 in the final quarter final. Both Semi finals were also won with 2-0 scorelines as Lee Cook beat Kevin Sams & Phil Welch defeated Kevin Barker. The Sports D’s Phil Welch won the final 3-1 to become the BVPA 2016 Champion of Champions.

Next weeks final night will see 8 players from each BVPA battling it out to win the Super League & Premier League Singles competitions.

The Super League Knockout line out includes Alan Parker & Stevie Spears Sports C, Ray Irving & Kevin McGarry Comrades B, Stephen Foggett Comrades A, Jason Watson Bedlington Station, Raymomd Erridge Seahorse B, & defending Champion Chris Gill Irish A.

The 1st ever Premier League Singles line out includes, Anthony Marshall, Darren Gurney & Phil Welch Sports D, Jamie Spratt & David Young Wharton Arms, Paul Jobson Breakers C, Robert Riley Breakers A & last but not least the Percy A’s Vince Palmer.