Gillsepie continues record of running every autumn relay at Blyth

In 1986, Blyth Running Club organised their first Autumn Relays and Stevie Gillespie has managed to run in every one since then.

Monday, 31st October 2016, 12:32 pm
Updated Wednesday, 16th November 2016, 3:38 pm

And he kept his record going in the 30th running this year, a tremendous achievement.

Forty-eight runners (16 teams) took to the start and the winners were Hayley Raithby, Dave Bradley and Liam Marsh.

After a much better than expected first leg by Raithby, both Bradley and Marsh produced solid runs to give their team a victory over the team of Dave McGarry, Claire Calverley and Ellis Hetherington by 18 seconds.

Although being caught by Jake Masterman, Dave Roberts showed huge determination to hang on to give his team third place, even though both were credited with the same overall time.

Masterman was the fastest on the night with 12.28, with Leanne Herron the quickest female with a time of 14.48, just three seconds slower than her own female veteran record from last year. Full results at

The runners thanked all the marshals and timekeepers who ensured that the event went off smoothly.

The first race of the club’s popular Winter Series will be on Wednesday, November 23, with further details on the club’s website and notice-board at Blyth Sports Centre.

Sunday, December 4, sees the 57th running of the Blyth Sands Race, which is unique in the north east for the handicapping system it uses.

Runners receive handicaps according to age/sex, ie ladies over 55 years of age will receive 13 minutes start on the men under 40.

Further details and entry forms are available at Blyth Sports Centre and online at