GENERAL ELECTION: Votes will be counted this morning

A total of ten candidates are vying for two seats in Parliament to represent south east Northumberland.

The candidates will have a tense wait at Concordia Leisure Centre in Cramlington this morning as the count gets under way.

There are five candidates for the Blyth Valley constituency, currently held by Labour’s Ronnie Campbell, who has been the constituency MP since 1987.

And a further five for the Wansbeck constituency, which is held by Labour’s Ian Lavery, who won the seat with an 18.4 per cent majority in 2010.

The results are expected to be announced around midday.

And the News Post Leader will bring them to you as they happen.

Follow our reporter Tegan Chapman on twitter @teganchapman for updates as they happen.

Wansbeck Candidates:
Chris Galley, Conservative

Tom Hancock, Liberal Democrat

Chris Hedley, Green Party

Melanie Hurst, UKIP

Ian Lavery, Labour

Blyth Valley Candidates:

Ronnie Campbell, Labour

Barry Elliott, UKIP

Dawn Furness, Green Party

Philip Latham, Liberal Democrat

Greg Munro, Conservative