New look for Newbiggin Town Council

A new town council membership has been appointed following the first meeting of the council year.

Monday, 14th June 2021, 7:00 am
The newly appointed Newbiggin-by-the-Sea Town Council.
The newly appointed Newbiggin-by-the-Sea Town Council.

Newbiggin-by-the-Sea Town Council has an entirely new look following the council elections.

New councillors appointed to the council are Coun Paul Common, Coun Louise Spratt, Coun Gwen Woodman, Coun Tom Roll, Coun Jill Woodman, Coun Alison Sutherland, and Coun Ami Wootton.

One vacancy remains on the North Ward following an insufficient number of election candidates.

A spokesperson for the council said they are looking for someone eligible to fill this role and will be considering applications at the next meeting in July.

The Council membership is not the only change as Dennis Earl, the Town Clerk since the council was created in 2009, has announced his retirement and Elaine Brown has been appointed as the new Town Clerk.

At the meeting, Dennis was thanked for his professionalism and devotion to Newbiggin over the last 13 years and wished well for his retirement.

At the annual meeting of the council, Coun Common was elected chairman and Mayor with Coun Woodman elected vice-chairman and deputy mayor.

The Council also agreed to register for the Local Council Award Scheme at Foundation Level and are the first council in South East Northumberland to do so.

The spokesperson added: “To meet this award the council demonstrates that it has the required documentation and information in place for operating lawfully and according to standard practice.

"The council also has policies for training for its councillors and officers and so has the foundations for improvement and development in place.”