Bedlington push Swalwell but still lose out

Bedlington suffered a five-wicket defeat to Swalwell on Saturday, but made the visitors fight for the 20 points.

The Hirst Head outfit welcomed back Nicky Carr and Josh Watson, who replaced Ben Harmison and Matty Tanney.

In losing the toss Bedlington were asked to bat first and opened up with Chris younger and Michael Levison.

In the face of a tight opening spell they grafted their way to 23 before Younger fell for seven.

Skipper Sean McCafferty (1) fell soon after and a poor run out left the blameless Levison well short of his ground for 18.

Darren Leason (38) watched as wickets fell regularly through the middle order until Nicky Douglas (16), Carr (8) and Josh Watson (11 not out) gave the score some respectability of 122 all out in the final over.

Chris Younger picked up both openers including the prolific Chris Hewison to claim 2-29, and Nicky Douglas bowled economically without luck, but Carr (2-43) and Josh Watson (1-13) ensured the visitors were made to work for their victory by five wickets.

Bedlington 3 points

Swalwell 20 points

Bedlington’s second team reached 137 against Swalwell seconds thanks to contributions from Ian Anderson (30), Jason Canavan (23) and Bob Gibson (22).

Wickets from Lee Hutchison (4-33), Martin Leason (1-17), Bradley Purvis (2-13) and Connor Leason (2-13) looked to be taking the visitors to victory but the last wicket pair for Swalwell held their nerve to claim a one wicket win.

On Saturday Bedlington’s first team travel to Shotley Bridge whilst the second XI host the same opposition.