Smith leads Blyth victory charge with unbeaten 70

Blyth ran out comfortable winners by nine wickets at home against basement club Bomarsund.

At a windswept Plessey Road, the visitors won the toss and decided to bat first.

Andy McTaggart and Colin Thornton opened the innings for the visitors and were soon in trouble as David Dent trapped McTaggart lbw without scoring.

David Ebdale then sent new batsman Scope back without scoring with the score on eight.

Clark then caught Colin Thornton off Dent for four before Sam Thornton came in to join Straker and the pair doubled the score.

But Ebdale sent two back in one over. First he bowled Sam Thornton for five, then three balls later new batsman Besford was bowled for nought.

In Ebdale’s next over Robinson went lbw also without scoring.

Sparrow joined Straker and the pair held the innings together for the 11 overs.

Blyth skipper Mark Lawrence brought himself on and Singh replaced Ebdale, and after Straker and Sparrow had put together a 30-run partnership, Lawrence ended Straker’s dogged resistance when Purma caught him for 18.

Ex-Blyth player Chris Scott came in and failed to score as Lawrence trapped him lbw.

Sparrow was next out when he was caught by Carr off Lawrence for 21.

Gary Mordey and Chris Mollon were now at the wicket. It looked like they were going to see their side reach a batting point. However, Lawrence finally finished off the innings when he had Mollon stumped by Quinn for five. Mordey remained 15 not out.

Blyth’s wicket-takers were Ebdale 4-11, Dent 2-20 and Lawrence 4-22.

After losing Dent for four. Craig Smith and Andy Clark took control and saw Blyth to their target with Smith hitting 70 and Clark playing a support role with 12.

Jayden Sparrow took the only wicket for Bomarsund.

Blyth 30 points

Bomarsund 0 points

On Saturday Blyth play their final game of the season when they are away to league champions Bates Cottages with a 12.30pm start.