Ashington Grand in cup shock

IN the third round of the Standard Security Blyth and Wansbeck Sunday League Alan Davison Cup, second division Ashington Grand pulled off the shock of the day.

They defeated premier division Ashington RAOB on penalties after the game ended 1-1 after extra time.

Lenny Lansbury scored the goal for the Buffs and Daniel Donnelly for Grand.

Second division Ashington White House also progressed after beating first division Blyth Seahorse thanks to the only goal of the game scored by John Appleby.

Another game decided after extra time was Milbourne Arms and Rockcliffe Arms. The scores were level at 3-3 after 90 minutes with Martin Douglas scoring the winner for Milbourne.

Monkseaton Hunting Lodge came from a goal down to lead 4-1 in their tie with Ashington Fox Cover before winning 7-4.

Scoring for the Cover was Kris Allington with a hat-trick and Alan Frazer.

Burradon and New Fordley were away to fellow premier side Newbiggin and went through 4-0 with goals from Ian Lee (2), Paul Alexander and Steve Howes.

The Albert also went through with a 3-0 home win against Blyth Comrades thanks to goals by Colin Dougal (2) and Craig Hull.

The Eagle lost at home 3-0 against Whitley Bay Cibos.

In round two of the JD Marnock Cup there were wins for Earsdon Red Lion and Whitley Bay Fat Ox.

The Red Lion won at Ashington Grand Street by the odd goal in seven. Goals for Grand Street were scored by Michael Duncan, Chris Hogg and Gary Todd.

The Fat Ox beat Bedlington Community 2-0.

In the Premier division, goals from Jason Riches and Greg Dance earned Ashington Mortimer a 2-0 win over Tynemouth Gunner.

Division one saw Monkseaton Arms turn the form book upside down when they beat Blyth Masons Arms 2-1. On target for the Masons was Steven Elsey.

New Delaval and Newsham went down at home 5-2 against North Shields Gunner. There was no joy for the bottom two sides in division two. Blyth South Beach had a man in form in Lee Richardson who scored eight goals in his side’s 16–0 win against The Newsham. Other scorers were Daniel Day (3), Joe Betts (2), Anthony Marshall, Michael Meins and Daniel Wardle.

Leaders Cowpen Percy Arms also hit double figures when the defeated The Prince of Wales 10-0. Colin Morton led the scoring with four. The other goals came from Paul Huck (3), Lee Brosnan, Dean Fitch and Ian Dawson.