Ashington Woodhorn Lane Ladies hand out their awards

The end of season awards for Ashington Woodhorn Lane Ladies FC were presented at the Half Moon Inn.

Top goal scorer was a joint award shared between Kristie Fenwick, Laura Jobson and Karen Wright.

Sarah Bennett won most man of the match awards, sponsored by the Chain Station in Ashington; best goal went to Lauren Kavanagh; Jobson won player of the year and players’ player of the year, sponsored by MJ Sports; most improved player was Claire Laughton, sponsored by Chisholm bookmakers; and Sarah Taylor took the committee player of the year trophy, sponsored by Ashington FC.

Alf Marchetti, spokesperson for the club, said: “It’s been a great campaign finishing second in the table in our first season and we would like to thank all our sponsors, helpers, committee and Ashington FC throughout the season.

“Also thanks to Kyle Oliver and Kyle Downey for making the awards at the presentation.”