Bedlington Social Club lose out in cup final to Billy Mill

In the David Crichton Memorial Cup final, Cramlington Sunday League side Billy Mill beat Standard Security Blyth and Wansbeck Sunday League Bedlington Social Club 3-2 thanks to a hat-trick from Andy Robertson.

Mill’s victory saw them retain the trophy as Craig Webb and Joe Moscrop scored the goals for Bedlington.

George Crichton, president of the competition who had come over from Spain to attend the final, presented trophies.

In round one of the George Davison Cup, Ashington RAOB beat local rivals Ashington Town Central 4-0 with goals from Shaun Gibson, Ben Harmison, Kyle Downey and Gary Bales.

Ellington Plough went down 5-2 at home in the first round of the Saints Shield against Ashington Station Lounge.

Round one of the Alan Davison Cup saw Bedlington Market Tavern advance with a narrow home win against Earsdon Red Lion when a goal scored by Jason Wilson decided the tie.

In the premier division, Amble Tavern continued their good form with a 7-0 home win against Cramlington Green. Liam Brookes (4), Steven Gibbard (2) and Ross Stewart were on target.

Broomhill North End Trap had a surprise win at Newsham Victory by the odd goal in three. Chris Coppen scored for the Vic while Max Anderson and Ben Lilburn scored for Trap.

Division one saw Marden Residents maintain top spot with a 4-2 home win against Ashington Sporting Club. They are eight points abover second place High Street. Scoring for Residents were Kevin Salmon, Martin Peters, Chris Ridgeway and Ross Seaman. Luke McMahon and Robert Watts scored for Sporting Club.

Guide Post Shakespeare Tavern lost 2-1 at home to Morpeth Conservative Club. Robert Sharp’s goal was not enough as Nick O’Neil and Glen Straughan scored for the Morpeth side.

North Shields Pineapple also went down at home, 5-3 against High Street. Charlie Thompson (2) and Chris English scored for Pineapple, but Chris Laidlaw (2), Jason Smart and Adam Emmerson goals won it.

On Sunday, the league have five teams in the second round of the NFA Sunday Minor Cup.