Burradon and Red Lion win finals

Share this article

BURRADON and New Fordley won the Alan Davison Cup in the Standard Security Blyth and Wansbeck Sunday League.

However, credit went to Wansbeck Flavour Bar, who took the final to a penalty shoot-out.

Flavour Bar took the lead when Peter Roberts rose to glance a free kick into the bottom corner.

Burradon equalised in the second half when a Ryan Hutchinson effort was deflected in.

After the tie went beyond extra time, it was Burradon’s experience which told as they won the penalty shoot-out 6-5. Trophies were presented by league president George Allen.

The second final on Sunday saw Blyth Top House lose 2-0 to Red Lion Earsdon in the Eric Anderson Cup.

Red Lion took an early lead through Keith Kennedy, and after Top House were reduced to ten men in the second half they task became even harder. Kenneday added a second in the dying minutes.

NFA councillor Frank Scantlebury presented trophies on behalf of sponsor Reay Security.

In division one, Ashington Grand win by the odd goal in seven against High Street. Luke Bunting, Michael Todd, Graham Todd and Kyle Downey scored for Grand, with Chris Laidlaw, Jason Smart and Sean Pickering replying for Street.

Bedlington Community went down 4-1 at home against Ashington Hoose. Martin Kelly scored for Community, but goals from Michael Hogg, Brain Henderson, David Riches and Brent Aisbitt won it.

Blyth Comrades had a comfortable 7-0 win at home against West Allotment courtesy of goals from Daniel Long (4), Steven Molloy (2) and Daniel Wilson.

Blyth Last Orders made it two wins in three weeks against South Beach Residentsl, this time 5-3. On target for Last Orders were Mathew Wade (2), Andrew Dodds (2) and Chris Watson. Joe Betts (2) and Kevin Long scored for Beach.

North Shields got back to winning ways with a 4-2 home win against Ashington Bubbles. Scoring for Royal was Scott Pocklington (2), Les Thompson and Charlie Thompson, with Stephen Turnbull and Kris Tait replying for Bubbles.

In division two, Portland beat White House 2-1 thanks to goals from Robert Groves and Paul Crate. Graeme Robinson scored White House’s consolation.

Lynemouth Institute won with a goal from Marc Richardson at FC Beacon.

Marden Residents went down at home by the odd goal in seven against Bay Horse. Chris Darroll (2) and Tony Hall scored for Residents while David Louther (2), John Leonard and Michael Jordon scored for Bay Horse.

Newsham and New Delaval also won by the odd goal in seven at home against AE Phoenix. On target for Newsham was Ian Locke, Joe Race, James Bell and Paddy Allen. Kevin Chapman (2) and Stephen Scott scored for Phoenix.

Newbiggin Bankhouse went down at home 8-2 against Cramlington Phoenix. Karl Davison and Patrick Doyle scored for Bankhouse, but goals from Callum Bryce (2), Michael Treanor (2), Dean Devlin (2), Chris Killin and Sean Glendinning won it.