Chilton hits seven in 15-1 win

Share this article

CUP matches were the order of the day in the Standard Security Blyth and Wansbeck Sunday League.

The quarter-final of the George Davison Cup saw holders were Burradon and New Fordley win 15-1 at second division Blyth Top House.

Andrew Davison scored Top House’s consolation,but goals from Michael Chilton (7), Jordon Watson (2), Ryan Hutchinson, Steve Howes, Daniel Young, Michael Hall, Cameron Patrick and Craig Johnson won it.

In the J D Marnock Cup, Newbiggin Bankhouse reached the semi-final with a 3-2 home win against Cramlington Phoenix. Bankhouse’s Kevin Halliday scored all three with Paul Avery and Graham Owens on target for Phoenix.

In the Alan Davison Cup quarter-finals there were wins for Blyth Last Orders and Wansbeck Flavour Bar.

Last Orders won 3-2 at High Street. Steven Brown and a penalty from Anthony Harvey were not enough for Street as Mathew Wade, Andrew Dodds and John Williams goals sealed Last Orders’ win.

Flavour Bar beat Red Lion Earsdon 2-1 courtesy of goals from Stephen Frater and Ryan Wilson. Keith Kennedy scored for the Lion consolation.

In division one, Ashington Bubbles beat Blyth South Beach 6-2 at home through goals from Kris Allington (4), Jamie Graham and Che Aisbitt. Connor Hale and Lee Richardson scored for Beach.

North Shields Royal Arms beat Blyth Comrades 3-1 win with strikes from Les Thompson (2) and Nicky Thompson. Michael Meins scored for Comrades.

In division two, Ashington White House edged Forest Hall 1-0 thanks to a David Jobson goal.

FC Beacon won 5-3 at home to Bay Horse. Michael Lamb led the scoring with a hat-trick for Beacon, with further goals from Colin Denny and Richard Taylor. Karl Boughen, Jordon Leonard and Keiron Bishop were on target for Bay Horse.

Marden Residents also had a good home win, 2-1 against New Delaval and Newsham. Ira Tilley and Mark Hunter scored for Residents while Jason Hamilton notched the consolation.

Newsham Willow Tree went down 3-2 at home against Lynemouth Institute. David Millin and Chris Coppen scored for the home side but strikes from Marc Richardson (2) and Mark Laidler won it.