Cramlington Town beaten after being so close to overcoming Blyth Town

Share this article

Cramlington Town were only seconds away from knocking Blyth Town out of the Archers of Blyth George Dobbins League Cup.

But Malcolm Morien levelled and Blyth added four more in extra time from Chris Bell, David Atkinson (2) and Ian Heron for a 6-2 win.

David Mason and Jordan Watson scored for the hosts, with Morien also getting the first equaliser.

Elsewhere in the competition Shankhouse saw off Ashington Colliers on penalties.

Shankhouse led with goals from Anth Moran and Adam Bambrough, but Ashington took the game to extra time with late strikes from Liam Taylor and Shaun Gibson.

However, it was Shankhouse who took the tie 4-3 on penalties.

In the Bluefin Group Bill Gardner Memorial Trophy, Seaton Delaval fell behind to Wideopen through David Gabbitus’s early strike.

The visitors were unlucky not to add a second when they hit the woodwork before Daniel Young led the Delaval fightback with a hat-trick. Stephen Howes and Andy Wright were also on target in a 5-1 win.

Ross Muter (2), Mick Angus, Kris Allington and John Bone scored for AFC Newbiggin as they knocked out Cramlington United, who scored through Callum Nixon.

Dan Long (2) and Dan Carr were Blyth Isabella’s marksmen in their 3-1 victory over Bedlington Terriers Reserves, who netted through Mark Race.

Whitley Bay A’s Connor Johnson hit the only goal of the game at Red House Farm to put the Seahorses top of the premier division.

Sam Walton (2 pens), Chris Moffit, Ben Fenwick and Dan Thompson netted for Wallington in an end-to-end encounter with Wallsend Town, who came back from 3-0 down to level with goals from Liam Anderson (2) and Jordan Jones.

Rutherford led at Killingworth Station with goals from Will Forsyth and Sam Moore, but Station hit back with strikes from Michael Bowman, Mark Covell, Lee Hamilton and Chris Tate, with Jimmy Davidson getting a third for the unlucky visitors.