Eight in a row with Blyth Town in Northern Alliance

In the Northern Alliance Newcastle Building Society premier division,

Blyth Town made it eight wins in a row with goals from Malcolm Morien (2), Stephen Howes and Michael Bowman against Whitley Bay A.

But the visitors proved no pushover and had Ryan McGorrigan, Jack Byerley and Connor Johnson shoot home at the other end in a 4-3 reverse.

Nathan Sopp struck twice in Red House Farm’s success against North Shields Athletic. Steve Brown and Chris Hutchinson added the others as they moved into second spot.

Goals from Matty Hayton, Sam Grieveson and Carl Begbie earned Walker Central three points at Ashington Colliers, who had Johnny Barrett on target in a 3-1 defeat.

In the Nike first division, AFC Newbiggin closed the gap at the top of the table to two points as the Seasiders had Ashley Smyth, Richie Hall, Ross Muter and Gary Bailes on target against Wallsend Boys Club, who replied through Keiran Dewhirst.

John Amos bagged a brace in Cullercoats’ fine win over Cramlington Town, which took them into third spot. Richie May, Hylton Mole and Jake Newstead got the others with Town hot-shot Dan MacDonald hitting two at the other end.

Anthony Smith (2), James Bowman, Lee Cuthbertson and Dan Hill hit the net for Birtley Saint Josephs as the beat Heddon and Blyth Isabella’s Daniel Hislop crashed in a hat-trick to give them the points at Newcastle Uni. Gavin Maddison got the other, with Matthew Morley bagging a brace for the Students.

In the Bay Plastics second division, Matty Smith grabbed a first half opener and Lewis Walker added a second from the penalty spot in Forest Hall’s win over Willington Quay Saints.

In the Bay Plastics George Dobbins League Cup, Alnwick Town Reserves slammed in 14 at Wideopen, with striker Ryan Taylor helping himself to eight as the black and whites romped into round two. Neil McFall, Andrew Kiddell (2), Kenny Collins, Dominic Shievetta and Jay Imeson added the others. Lewis Allen had shot the hosts ahead in the opening minute.

A Josh Walsh hat-trick put holders Shankhouse though against Killingworth Station.

Karl Nealings-Lazzari also hit a hat-trick for Seaton Delaval in their big win over Hexham. Liam Wotherspoon (2), Michael Scott (2) and Matthew Bailey got the others, with Aiden Armstrong and Curtis Harvey scoring for Hexham.

Tony Thirkell’s double helped Whickham SC squeeze through at second division Grainger Park, who had Kirk Fleming and Steven Knox on target. Ryan Davenport grabbed the winner.

Peter Henderson netted a treble for Hebburn Reyrolle as they beat New Fordley. Ricky Brown, Daniel McConnell and Bede Finnegan were also on the scoresheet. Goals from Chris Thompson and Ben Davison had put the visitors ahead at one point.

Fibun Nyadu, Nathan Hepurker, Darren Turnbull, Kallum Broadbent and Ricardo Tanoh slammed home Rutherford’s goals at Lindisfarne CP, with Chris Darrol replying.

Jamie Heath, Marc Shiel, Ashley Combe and Mark Graham were Carlisle City’s scorers against Whitburn. Ross MacAuley netted for the visitors.

Dan Thompson bagged four in Wallington’s win over Cramlington United.

John Paxton (pen), Kyle Reardon and Matty Blackith added the others. United’s marksmen were Nathan Hewitt, Ben Davidson and Simon Gallon (2).

Northbank’s Rikki-Lee James, Cameron Wilson and Tom Lucock hit the net against Percy Main with Daniel Snape replying.

Shilbottle had Liam Brooks (2), Ross Gair, Chris Graham and Ryan Douglas crash in as they dumped out Ponteland United. Grant Cambridge pulled one back.

Chemfica dumped Wooler out courtesy of Tommy Bainbridge’s 75th minute strike.

Goals from James Fenwick and Curtis Aitken booked Gateshead Leam Rangers a spot in round two as they saw off West Allotment Celtic A, whose scorer was Joe Deverdics-Wallace.

Michael Baxter hit a double for Newcastle Benfield Reserves in their win over Longbenton, who replied through Connor Graham.

Adrian Watson, Rob Ridley (2), Dan Gray and Joe Laverick slammed in for Bedlington Terriers Reserves at Swalwell, who hit a consolation thanks to Danny Igo.

Seaton Burn won an amazing tie at High Howdon 7-6 on penalties after it had ended 5-5 after extra time. Howdon’s scorers were Chris Marshal (2), Dean Blacklock, Lee Knighton and Chris Chan while Ben Green, Dave Hewitt, Nicky Hara and Jonathon Sutcliffe (2) lashed in for the Burn in an end-to-end encounter.