Four Spartans selected for England C squad

Four Blyth Spartans players have been honoured by being selected for an FA representative squad.

Dan Maguire, Lewis Horner, Nathan Buddle and Matty Wade have been chosen by England C team manager Paul Fairclough as part of a squad of 16.

In addition, Conor Grant and Arran Wearmouth have been selected as ‘squad reserves’.

The team will represent the FA in a match against the Northern League as part of that competition’s 125th anniversary celebrations.

And they will come up against Ashington skipper Andrew Johnson, who has been selected for the Northern League squad.

Both Blyth Spartans and Whitby contribute four players to the England C squad while there are three from Harrogate Town, three from Darlington 1883 and two from Frickley.

The game will be played at Bishop Auckland FC on Tuesday, March 25, with a 7.30pm kick-off.