Seaton Delaval Amateurs in extra-time cup win

SEATON Delaval Amateurs lifted the Kicks Leisure George Dobbins League Cup last night following an extra-time victory over Ashington Colliers at Bedlington’s Welfare Park ground.

An uninspiring contest eventually sprung to life on the half hour when after good approach play involving Joe Bolton, David Brown and Glen Bolton, the latter’s pass to Jamie Patterson saw the midfielder upended by Delaval keeper Nile Harrison and Sean Gibson coolly and confidently slotted home the resultant penalty.

The Amateurs line-up included former Ashington player Michael Fenwick, and for the striker the game turned sour then sweet inside a 15-minute spell during the second period.

Ten minutes after the break, Abubaker Salim was clipped in the area by Andrew Carr but Fenwick’s well struck and low penalty was brilliantly pushed away by Colliers keeper Craig Towart diving to his left.

A huge turning point arrived midway through the half when a 25-yard free kick by Ashington’s Gibson rattled the bar – and three minutes later Fenwick latched onto a cross played into the area by Grant Kershaw to turn on a sixpence and fire wide of Towart for a superb equaliser.

Seven minutes into the first period of extra-time, Colliers substitute Michael Hogg drove wide – then seconds later, the ball was played through for Daniel Maguire who drilled wide of Towart to put Delaval 2-1 ahead.

Five minutes later Maguire was again involved.

He burst into the box and was sent tumbling by Towart with referee John Harper awarding the third penalty of the game.

Salim made no mistake from the spot with a calm finish.

After the final whistle, Delaval skipper Andy Johnson picked up the man of the match award before hoisting the cup aloft surrounded by his ecstatic team-mates.

Ashington Colliers: Towart, Watson, Gibson, Bolton (Davison 76 mins), Nickalls, Smith, Patterson, Carr (McKenzie 106 mins), Brown, Cunningham, Moscrop (Hogg 70 mins). Subs not used: Butters, Trustcott.

Seaton Delaval Amateurs: Harrison, C Johnson, Low, Symington, A Johnson, Cairns, Kershaw (Katz 76 mins), Maguire, Fenwick, Wade (Berham 111 mins), Salim. Subs not used: Patterson, Anjos, Thompson.