Spartans’ skipper Dale just misses out on award shortlist

Share this article

Blyth Spartans winger Robbie Dale has just missed out on a place on the list of contenders for the Evo-Stik Northern Premier League Fans’ Player of the Year award.

Dale, who was rewarded with the captaincy, has been in exceptional form this season, scoring several memorable goals and playing a key part in Blyth’s unlikely play-off challenge.

However he only made the list of commended players who missed out on the final shortlist.

The Northern Premier League’s fans have had their say, and have now decided the five finalists for this season’s Evostik League Supporters’ Player of the Season.

A total of 103 players were nominated from more than 250 votes cast, and a panel made from fans from each club in the league have decided the following five finalists for the award:

Gavin Allott (Frickley Athletic); Johnathan Froggart (Belper Town); Tom Greaves (FC United of Manchester); Leon Mettam (Worksop Town); and Stephen Thompson (Darlington 1883).

The Northern Premier League Fans’ Facebook Group, who alongside the league ran the voting, commended the following players who missed out by a minority of votes:

Sam Ashton (Chorley); Aaron Burns (Nantwich Town); Robert Dale (Blyth Spartans); Phil Dean (Ramsbottom United); Tom Denton (Worksop Town); Matthew Hughes (Skelmersdale United); John Johnston (Leek Town); Cieran Kilheeney (Warrington Town); Amar Purewal (Darlington 1883); and Matthew Warburton (Curzon Ashton).

The voting for the overall winner is now open. Fans are asked to visit×6b4.fullpage and follow the on-screen information.

Closing date is 11pm on Sunday, March 16.

Fans are only allowed to vote once.