Sunday league hands out end of season awards

The Standard Security Blyth and Wansbeck Sunday League held its AGM and presentaion night at New Delaval and Newsham Social Club.

Monday, 13th June 2016, 11:28 am
Updated Monday, 13th June 2016, 12:41 pm

Chairman Colin Douglas welcomed all the teams and league president George Allen.

It was announced that Standard Security would once again be the league’s sponsors for the coming season, and Jim and Suzette Scott were thanked for their continued support.

All committee members were re-elected to serve for another year and the chairman praised Paul Turner, who had managed to fit all the fixtures in after a winter of bad weather.

Burradon and New Fordley left the league to join the Cramlington Sunday League.


Secretary of the year: Division One, joint winners Shahab Miah (High Street Blyth) and Ronnie Hodgson (Marden Residents); Premier Division, Martyn Hepple (Blyth Waterloo Pub).

Top goalscorer: Division One, David Lillico (Newsham Victory) 23; Premier Division,

Joe Moscrop (Bedlington Social Club) 15.

Player of the year (most league man of match awards): Division One, Karl Boughen 10; Premier Division, shared, Ross Gilchrist (Blyth Waterloo Pub), Mitch Rennie (Red Lion Earsdon) 4.

Bill Young Fair Play Award (sponsored by Whitley Bay Trophies): shared, Burradon and New Fordley, Ashington Town Central and Broomhill North End Trap.

Denis Fowler Referee of the Year: Paul Taylor; Young Referee of the Year (sponsored by Standard Security Ltd): Evan Culling.

Harry Kennedy Achievement Award: Colin Clay (Red Lion Earsdon).

Preident’s Cup: Paul Turner.

Eric Anderson Cup: winners Newsham Victory; runners-up: Red Lion Bedlington.

Alan Davison Cup (sponsored by Alan Davison): winners Burradon and New Fordley; runners-up Bedlington Social Club.

Saints Shield (sponsored by CR Scott Ltd): winners High Street Blyth; runners-up: Newsham Victory.

Randolph Cup (sponsored by Standard Security Ltd): winners Burradon and New Fordley; runners-up: Red Lion Earsdon.

J D Marnock Cup (sponsored by Reay Security Ltd): winners Ashington Northern; runners-up High Street Blyth.

George Davison Cup (sponsored by Port Training): winners Burradon and New Fordley; runners-up Spring Gardens North Shields’

Division One: Cramlington Green; runners-up Newsham Victory,

Premier Division: Burradon and New Fordley; runners-up: Bedlington Social Club.