Sunday league presents annual awards

The curtain came down on the Standard Security Blyth and Wansbeck Sunday League with the annual awards night at the league’s New Delaval and Newsham Social Club headquarters.

The evening opened with the chairman thanking sponsors Standard Security Ltd’s Jim and Suzette Scott, who were in attendance.

All cup sponsors and fair play league sponsor, Dave and John Smith, from Whitley Bay Trophies, were also present.

The chairman also thanked the committee and bar staff of New Delaval and Newsham Social Club for their continued support in allowing the league to use the club for meetings. There was also two other guests hidden in the room. Dan Burn, from Fulham Football Club, whose brother Jack plays for Blyth Last Orders, he also sponsored their strip for their cup final.

In addition, amongst the Last Orders crowd was Mathew Wade, a member of the Blyth Spartans FA cup side.

Proceedings got under way with a presentation of flowers to the ladies of the league. Jim Scott did the honours by presenting them to his wife Suzette, Lillian Allen the chairman’s wife and Susan Scantlebury, the secretary’s wife.

The division one secretary of the year went to Martyn Hepple from Blyth Last Orders. The premier division award was shared between Samantha Corbett from Forest Hall CC and Colin Clay from North Shields Wooden Doll.

Division one leading goalscorer was Martyn Hepple from Blyth Last Orders with 38.

There were five others scoring over 20 – Mathew Crook (Last Orders), 21; Mark Taylor (AE Phoenix Central), 23; Max Anderson (East Chevington), 25; David Lillico (Newsham Victory), 30; Anthony Goldie (Blyth High Street), 33.

The premier division award was shared between Lee Seller from Blyth South Beach CC and Michael Chilton from Burradon and New Fordley with 13.

Player of the year (most man of the match awards for league games) in division one went to Richard Hall from Ashington Conchie with 11 awards. In the premier division Michael Jordan from Forest Hall CC with six won.

The Bill Young Fair Play Award, sponsored by Whitley Bay Trophies, went to Cramlington Green.

The Dennis Fowler Award for referee of the year was won by Paul Taylor. This year there was also a new award for the young referee of the year and it went to Leighton Hopper.

The Harry Kennedy Award, in honour of the past president of the league who sadly passed away a couple of years ago, was presented to Red Lion Bedlington, who reached a final and were runners-up in division one.

The President’s Cup, chosen by league president George Allen, went to Kenny Newton.

The JD Marnock Cup, sponsored by Reay Security Blyth, was won by Blyth High Street.

The Alan Davison Cup, sponsored by Alan Davison, the league’s founder member 55 years ago, was won by Burradon and New Fordley.

The Saints Shield, sponsored by CR Scott Ltd Blyth, was presented to Blyth Last Orders.

The SA Randolph Cup, sponsored by Standard Security Blyth Ltd, was picked up by Burradon and New Fordley, who also won the Geroge Davison Cup, sponsored by Port Training Services Blyth.

Division trophies saw Blyth Last Orders lift the division one trophy and Burradon and New Fordley the premier division.

The David Crichton Memorial Cup was also won by Burradon and New Fordley, who defeated a side from Cramlington Sunday League.

The last trophy to be awarded was the NFA Sunday Cup, which was another one for Burradon and New Fordley, who beat a side from Newcastle.