Allen and Ryan book place in darts finals night

Share this article

The third round of the Ian Whillis Memorial Darts Trophy took place at Bedlington Station WMC with 22 players hoping to make it to the grand final.

Allen George and Ryan Joyce were the players to be successful on the night.

Joyce got the better of R Oliver and Chris Dobey to set up a final with Micky Luke, who had wins against Matty Whillis, and Arthur Dobey.

George outplayed Jarred Wilson before facing stiff opposition in Graeme Stoddart to reach his fina,l where he met Liam Jones, who had solid victories against R Aitman and Bob McFadden.

Scores of 180, 96, and 85 gave Luke the lead in the first final, but Joyce retaliated with 140 and two tons to draw level.

More solid scoring in the third leg saw Joyce take the lead before he claimed the win with 137, 121, and 83.

The second final had George in good form with four 80-plus scores, a ton and a 72-checkout in 18 darts.

More consistent scoring gave him the next leg in 20 darts and then he took full control as Jones struggled to keep pace, with 100, 140, 100, 45 and a 116 finish making it 3-0 and then completing the win with a 17-dart leg of 140, 41, 80, 100, 100, and double top to claim his grand final spot.

The Milton Anderson Memorial Ladies competition also took place on Monday night, with Donna Rydz and Claire Stainsby coming out on top of the competition field.