Appointments on county’s rugby union board

Northumberland Rugby Union held its annual general meeting at Prudhoe and Stocksfield RFC recently.

Outgoing president Pete O’Brien, from Ashington, handed over to Peter Jones, of Prudhoe and Stocksfield.

Malcolm Jarvie, from the Northumberland Rugby Referees Society, and Ken Fraser and Dave Pringle, from Morpeth, were elected as vice-presidents.

Malcolm Jarvie was also e-elected as honorary secretary, as was Terry O’Neill as honorary treasurer.

John Atherton, from Seghill, was voted in as assistant treasurer and Danny Hodgson was confirmed as RFU representative. A Coates was elected as auditor.

The 2012-13 season was reviewed as a being a successful season for the county, both on and of the pitch.

Northumberland won the tier two county final at Twickenham, at first XV level no Northumberland clubs were relegated from their respective leagues, while and Alnwick, Novocastrians and Newcastle Falcons were all promoted.

Newcastle Ravens are close to completing all the requirements for full CB/RFU membership and Alnwick were awarded the RFU President’s Award.

The Referees Society reported that it had appointed to more than 1,000 games at adult level, and Wayne Falla officiated at the county final at Twickenham.

The meeting heard how the Rugby World Cup 2015 presents an opportunity to develop the game in the county and with its leadership programme help clubs to prepare for and take advantage of the increased interest in rugby that will come from the competition.

The county’s RFU staff, led by rugby development officer Dave Reed, has continued to develop rugby at all levels, in schools, clubs and at representative level, and funding has been secured to double the number of community staff from three to six, which will further help in the development of the game in Northumberland