Chris Dobey and Davy Prins win memorial titles

Chris Dobey secured the Ian Whillis Memorial darts trophy with a final win over Davy Prins, who himself went on to win the Mark Williams Memorial title later in the week.

The finals night, sponsored by LWC, saw some fascinating matches, with Matty Willis and Davy Dodds getting the better of Gary Robson and Adam Hunt by the odd leg in seven, then Prins and Ryan Joyce took the spoils against Graham Fletcher and Callan Rydz with 4-1 and 4-2 scores, before Gordon Dobey and Chris Dobey progressed against Rob Mclusky and Ian Dawson 4-2 and 4-0, and Tab Hunter beat Gary Miller 4-0 and Alan George was victorious against Paul Williams 4-2.

The quarter-finals saw Dodds take a 4-1 win over Willis, Prins prevailed over Joyce 4-2, the two Dobey’s clashed with Chris coming out on top 4-1, and Hunter and George took their game all the way with George edging it 4-3.

The first semi-final was between Dodds and Prins, and scores of 100, 121, 123 and 137 gave Prins an early lead in a 15-dart leg.

Two 140s, 81 and 89 from Dodds levelled the tie in 16 darts and increased his lead with two tons and a 140 in a 17-dart game.

Prins took a nervous fourth leg in 20 darts then went on in fine style with scores of 100, 180, 100, 57 and a 64 check-out in a 15-dart leg before claiming his place in the final with another 15-dart winning game including scores of 140, 59, 92, 130 and checking out on 80.

The second semi-final was between Chris Dobey and George, and two 140s and a 101 check-out gave Dobey the lead in 15 darts with George sitting on double eight.

Then 180, 96 and 130 scores in a 15-dart leg extended his lead and he went further ahead with a 16-dart leg including two 140s, 100 and 97 scores.

He completed his victory with a 20-dart winning game to secure his place in the final against Prins.

The best of nine legs final saw Chris Dobey take the first in 18 darts with the help of 140, 100 and 135 scores.

He was to prove unstoppable from then on with scores of 100, 134, 100, 131 and double 18 in a 14-dart game, then a sparkling 11-dart game of 180, 137, 136 and a 48 check-out increased his advantage.

A 13-dart leg followed with scores of 140, 85, 82, 162 and double 16 ledt Prins wondering what he was doing wrong.

Chris Dobey went on to win in the fifth leg with scores of 100, 134 and 97, checking out on 56 to take the £600 first prize but more importantly the title of the Ian Whillis Memorial competition champion.

A total of £1,450 was paid out on the night thanks to Bedlington Station WMC and LWC.

In the Blyth Comrades Club weekly competition, the last week of qualifying at the saw 18 players looking for the two last remaining places at the Grand Final.

In the first half of the draw the semi-final was between Arthur Dobey and youngster Joe Gaffney, with Arthur Dobey coming out the winner 3-1.

The other semi-final saw Gareth Steele beat Connor Jones by the same score.

It was Arthur Dobey who won the first final of the night with another 3-1 score to go on to finals night.

In the second competition semi-final, Simon Malpass beat John Young in a close game 3-2.

Gaffney, playing his second semi-final, saw off Gary Miller 3-0 and won his place in the Grand Finals with another 3-0 over Malpass.

Both the Plate for non qualifiers and the Grand Final will be played on Wednesday, August 26.

The Mark Williams Memorial competition grand finals night, sponsored by LWC and Bedlington Station WMC took place on Thursday night.

The climax featured four talented players in Davy Prins, Chris Dobey, Andy Lynn and Callun Rydz.

The first semi-final was between Lynn and Rydz with the more experienced Lynn taking an early advantage in a 16-dart leg with the help of 96, 137 and 139 scores.

He followed this with 97, 93, 180, 77 and a 54 check-out in a 14-dart game.

Then 140 and 135 scores from Rydz could not stop the onslaught as Lynn took the third leg in 16 darts including 137, 99 and 100 scores.

He went on to secure his place in the final with 140, 100, 85, 100 and a 76 check-out in a 15-dart winning game. 

The second semi-final was a rematch of Monday nights final with Prins and Chris Dobey.

Two 140s and a 95 in a 15-dart leg gave Prins an early lead, and two tons in a nervous second leg extended it.

Further scores of 140, 100 and 80 took the next leg for Prins with Chris Dobey struggling to find Monday night’s form.

And missed doubles would prove costly for him as Prins took the next leg with scores of 140 and 139 to complete the win.

The final between Prins and Lynn saw the former quickly into his stride with 100, 140, 140 and 85 scores in a 17-dart winning game.

Lynn hit back with 78, 180 and 96 scores in 17 darts to level the tie, and he took the lead in a tense third leg.

Prins took the next leg with scores of 100, 140 and 90 to make the best of nine legs final level at 2-2.

Prins went ahead with the help of 140, 100, 90 and a check-out on the bullseye in 18 darts and extended the lead with a 16-dart leg including 140, 85, 81 and 95 with Lynn failing on his doubles in this leg.

But had no such problems in the next as he powered in a 14-dart game 80, 140, 135, 122 and double 12 to make the score 4-3.

However it was to be Prins who would take victory with 140, 92, 110 scores and finishing on double top to claim the £1,000 first prize and the Mark Williams Memorial competition trophy and title.

Thanks went to Bedlington Station WMC and LWC for their sponsorship.