Dobey impresses as darts trophy qualifiers begin

Bedlington Station WMC hosted heat one of the Mark Williams Memorial Darts Trophy, where top players from across the region were on hand to compete for the guaranteed £1,000 winner’s prize.

Thirty-four players took up the challenge, and the names in the frame for this week’s qualifier were Gordon Dobey, Ryan Joyce and Ian Dawson.

Gordon Dobey was in fine form with wins over Gareth Steele, Tony Wood, Steve Annan and Paul Bell to make his way to the first half final, where he came up against Ashington player Ian Dawson, who won through a tough field and gained wins over Matty Willis, Ryan Joyce, Graeme Stoddart and Phil Borthwick.

Gordon Dobey once again showed his form in the second half of the draw with wins against Jamie Martin, Alan Davie, James Forster and young and up and coming Callum Rydz.

Meanwhile Joyce staked a claim with wins over Michael Gradwell, Dave Gradwell, Paul Bell and Arthur Dobey to get the chance to play Gordon Dobey in the second half final.

The first final saw Gordon Dobey in cracking form with two 140s and a 180 in a 13-dart game, then scores of 121, 99, 81, and 100 secured the second leg in 16 darts.

Dawson hit back with 140, 85, 140 and 96 in 15 darts before Dobey claimed victory with scores of 140, 85, 100, and 82 in a 21-dart winning leg.

Joyce took on Gordon Dobey in the second final and took an early advantage with scores of 97, 99, 180 helping him to the first leg.

Gordon Dobey hit back in 13 darts with 96,100,100,165 and double top, and then went ahead, hitting 92, 95, 100, 94 in a 17-dart game before completing the victory in a 16-dart leg which included three tons and a 134 scores.

As Gordon Dobey had won both halves of the draw a decider was played between the other two finalists for the remaining grand final spot.

Joyce took the lead hitting 96, 84, 100, 96 and a 125 checkout in 15 darts.

Dawson levelled in a 22 darts leg before going 2-1 ahead with an 18-dart leg, hitting 100, 93, and a 140.

Joyce hit back with 100, 96, 180 scores to take the game to the final leg.

Dawson was to prove to strong on the night with a 15-dart leg of 140, 85, 135, 83 and checking out on 58 to go through.

The highest checkout on the night went to Joe Gaffney, and the competition continues on Thursday, June 13.

The Ian Whillis Memorial for men and the Milton Anderson Memorial for ladies will start on Monday, June 24.

All competitions are 7.30pm registration for an 8pm start.

For further information contact Paul Smith 07717 313089 or visit