Eccles and Dobey into Ian Whillis Memorial finals night

Round six of the Ian Whillis Memorial darts tournament attracted another 23 hopefuls competing for final night places up for grabs.

Tony Eccles and Arthur Dobey would end up as top dogs on the night but had to scrap every inch of the way.

Eccles got a tough ride through with wins against Ryan Aitman, Alan Davie and Adam Hun,t and had to endure a hard fight to secure a final night spot against Richie Abbot.

Arthur Dobey was also given plenty to do when drawn against Steven Hunt and Graeme Stoddart to set up his final against a very impressive Keith Wright, who had shown blistering form against David Hunt, and another young talent, Callan Rydz.

The first of the night’s finals saw Eccles fly out the blocks with 100, 140, and 97 scores in a 16- dart game to win the first leg.

He went further ahead with 140, 97, 94, 100, and a 70 checkout in a 15-dart leg.

A ton 140, 140, 96 and finishing on 25 in 14 darts made it 3-0, and even though Abbot had done nothing wrong and was always in striking distance, Eccles scoring power saw him through with 97, 89, 99, 100, 100, and double eight to take his place on finals night.

Wright and Dobey toed the oche in what was to be a nip and tuck affair.

Wright hit first with two 140s and a 128 to take the lead in 15 darts, then scores of 180 and 140 had Dobey level in 19 darts.

Another 140, 100, and 97 scores put Dobey ahead in an 18-dart leg, and more powerful shooting of 100, 140, 120, saw him go further in front before Wright struck back with a stunning 12-dart game of 180, 145, 140, and a 36-finish, making it 3-2.

A hard fought sixth leg in 19 darts with scores of 140 and 114 took it to the wire, and scores of 140, 100, 96 and 82 saw Dobey to the finish line in 16 darts and a final night spot.

Meanwhile a disappointing small but competitive field contested the Milton Anderson Memorial Trophy for ladies.

Carol Rydz and Yvonne Spowart claimed the two final night places, Rydz with wins over Jackie Smith and Jen Snaith while Spowart had good wins over M Grey and Janice Fairhurst to claim her finals night place.