Festival of Pool event a success

The Blyth Valley Pool Association, sponsored by Northumbria Flooring, three-a-side semis and final were played to a conclusion with a best of nine frames format.

In the first semi-final, Sports C edged Bedlington Station’s first team 5-3, with a break and dish from Paul Riley in the eighth frame sealing the match.

In the other semi, the Station’s second team won a close match with Sports D with an identical 5-3 scoreline. Ayton Stewart was in fine form for the Station with some under pressure pots and clearances.

The final was played on two tables and Station took three frames in a row after sharing the opening games. Sports C did pull the score back, but Stewart sealed the win in the eighth frame of the night as all 3 matches finished 5-3 on the night Man of the match was Ayton Stewart with a 100 per cent record from his three frames including an eight-ball clearance in the fifth frame.

The winners took the trophy and £140 prize money, Sports C took the £90 runners-up prize money, whilst both semi-finalists won £50 each.

The doubles semis and final were played to a conclusion over a best of seven frames.

In the first semi, Seahorse B’s Mark Lillico and Andrew Brownlee won a final frame decider against Sports B’s Richie Cook and Andy Scott.

In the second, Sports C’s Neil ‘Flap’ Taylor and Ian Carr edged past Station’s Jason Watson and Ayton Stewart.

The final saw the Seahorse pair clear the table up to the black but left themselves in a total snooker for Brownlee to play the cue-ball off the bottom cushion and make perfect contact with the eight-ball, which doubled into the middle pocket.

The Sports C pairing took the second frame to tie the match, but Lillico and Brownlee took every opportunity in the next three to seal the victory and the £140 prize money.

Carr and Taylor took home £90 and the semi-finalists £50 each. The win marked a first trophy for a team outside the top four in the BVPA.

On Thursday the BVPA singles quarters, semis and final were all played to a conclusion with a best of seven frames format

It was unfortunate Kevin Little could not make it due to commitments, giving Kevin McGarry a bye into semis.

In the quarters, Jason Watson beat Mark Lillico 4-0, including a break and dish in second frame and eight-ball clearance in the third.

Chris Gill beat Phil Chadwick 4-0 in the second quarter-final.

Paul Riley beat Phil Welch 4-2 with an eight-ball clearances in the fifth and sixth frames. Welch was 2-0 after an eight-ball clearance in the opening frame, but an in-off on his last ball in the fourth gave Riley two shots at the black, which was in baulk.

The first semi saw Watson start with a break and dish and then he produced three eight-ball clearances to beat McGarry 4-0.

Gill beat Riley 4-0 in the second semi including an eight-ball clearance in the first frame and a break and dish.

Gill then took the final 4-0 with another two clearances to secure his third win in four years, and he received the trophy and £140 prize money. Watson earned £90, the semi-finalists £50 each and the quarter-finalists £15 each.

On the Friday the Knockout Cup semis and final were played over a best of 13 frames. A single frames ‘suicide singles’ competition was also played on the same night with one player from each team battling it out to take a Winner takes all £140 prize pot.

In the first semi, Irish A beat Sports C 7-3 in a re-run of last season semi-final.

Comrades B beat Newsham Side Club in the other semi.

Comrades took the first set of singles 5-0 to put them in a commanding position. As expected, Irish A showed their quality by responding, winning three of the next four frames. The last game of the singles was tight before Comrades B Captain Kevin McGarry cleared the last three balls to seal the victory.

Comrades B took the trophy and the £140 prize money, Irish A won £90, while the losing semi-finalists won £50 each.

The Champion of Champions event saw 2 players from teams outside the top six reach the final.

Sun A’s Lee Cook rattled a double on his second last colour, leaving Seahorse A’s Kevin Barker to clear his last two colours and the black to claim the trophy and the £140 prize money.

The BVPA committee thanked sponsors Northumbria Flooring for their support, Sports Club for staging the finals nights and all the players who have played in the Superleague this season.

In other local pool news, the BDPL three-a-side final was played at the Waterloo Pub between the High Street and Services A.

With the teams finishing first and second respectively in this year’s Bob Brown Premier League, a close match was always on the cards.

Ryan Wigham took the first frame for High Street before David Antwiss won the second after a re-rack to level the scores, which ignited Services as they raced into a 4-1 lead following two fantastic wins by Ian Wilkinson and another by Antwiss.

With the High Street staring down the barrel of defeat they rallied, and BDPL Premier player of the year Mark Smith pulled the score back to 4-2 with a good clearance before Wigham won a hard-fought frame against Wilkinson, taking the score to 4-3.

In the penultimate game of the night, Kevin Coe looked to have done enough to take the final to a decider but unfortunately ran out of position on the black ball and ultimately rattled the ball leaving it over the top pocket, which left Derek Hibbert a simple tap in on the black to clinch the game and the win the competition for Services A.

Antwiss ended up being the star man on the night for Services A, winning both of his frames, with team-mate Wilkinson as well in fine form, winning two out of three frames.

On Sunday, June 7, at the United Services, the BVPA A and B teams will play the BDPL’s Premier and first division teams in a charity match in honour of Bob Brown with all monies raised going to Macmillan Cancer.

The BVPA will be having a meeting for new teams on Tuesday, June 16, 7-30pm, at Blyth Sports Club.

Teams wishing to play in the BVPA’s 2015-16 season will need to pay a £50 bond.

Any teams wishing to play in the BVPA’s Summer League between June 25 and August 13 can also pay a £20 entry fee.

Brian Moss and Lee Tyson from the BDPL are also running a Summer League promoting black-ball rules and teams can contact them via their Facebook pages.