Forster and Dobey into Mark Williams Memorial finals night

Round seven of the Mark Williams Memorial Trophy took place on Thursday night with 32 players looking to add their names to the list of qualifiers for the grand finals night on Thursday, August 15.

The men in the spotlight were James Forster and Graeme Stoddart, who would contest the first final of the night, and Chris Dobey and Forster again, who fought it out in the second.

Stoddart came through a tough field including S Malpass, Paul McGowan, Ian Gleeson and Allen George to reach the first final, where he came up against Forster who had to be at his best against the challenges of Keith Wright, Paul Bell, Dan Boyes, and Chris Dobey.

The second half draw threw up some interesting encounters with Chris Dobey leading the way with good wins against Keith Fletcher, Keith Wright, Allen George, and Alan Davie to take his place in final number two, where he met Forster, who had worked hard to keep C Williamson, Graeme Stoddart, S Malpass and Ian Gleeson at arm’s length.

The first final saw Forster up against Stoddart with the former getting the better of things early on with two tons and a 94 scores giving him the lead in 20 darts.

Scores of 100, 180, 66 check-out in the next leg had him further ahead, before Stoddart reduced the deficit with scores of 100, 100, and 45 in the third.

Forster was to go on and take his place on finals night with an 18-dart winning leg with scores of 140, 100, and 95.

The second final of the night saw Forster take to the stage again against Dobey, who set off in fine fashion two 140 scores and a ton giving him a first leg lead.

Forster pulled level with three tons in a 19-dart leg, but Dobey hit back with 100, 100, and 99, to regain the lead before Forster drew level again and went on to secure his second final win with a 14-dart leg which had scores of 40, 100, 137, 180 and clocking out on 44.

Forster winning both finals gave Dobey and Stoddart the chance to play-off for the remaining grand final spot.

Dobey came out on top with a mixture of heavy scoring and clinical finishing in a 3-0 victory.

Highest finish of the night went to Davie with a 131 clock out. The final qualifying round takes place on Thursday, August 1.