Good start to grand prix for Blyth team

EVERY year Blyth Running Club hold their own Grand Prix Leagues across nine races ranging from three to 13.1-miles, with the best six scores counting towards the runner’s league position.

The 2012 season started with a bang for the ladies at the Snake Lane ten-mile at Pocklington, York.

Heather Christopher, Susanne Hunter and Phillippa Baxter all put in tremendous performances to give Blyth the first ladies’ team prize.

With a light wind and a pleasant temperature conditions were good for running, demonstrated by personal best’s for Dave Bradley, Heather Christopher, Hayley Masterman, Phillippa Baxter and Heather Barrass.

The club also had a number of newer members and older juniors racing over ten miles for the first time, including Dave Potts, Martin Scott, Dawn Phillips, Jake Jansen, Calum Storey and Leon Savage.

Jansen had a superb debut, recording 63:15 to finish as first Blyth runner home and gain maximum points in his first ever Grand Prix race. Michael Butters was second back for Blyth, with Heather Christopher third.

Christopher finished 11th lady overall and was awarded the fifth placed prize, there were also third placed prizes for Susie and Cath Young in their respective age categories.

On Sunday, April 1, Blyth Running Club will be holding the ‘Spirit Of The Staithes’ 10km run. The race will start at Blyth Quayside at 10am. All finishers will receive a T-shirt.

With more than 500 finishers last year, the club have introduced a limit of 600 entries.

Entry forms are available at Blyth Sports Centre and other sports centres or online at