Hunt and Martin secure last two finals night places

Round seven of the Ian Whillis Memorial Trophy was hosted at the Bedlington Station WMC on Monday night with 25 players in contention for the final two places for the grand final.

And those two players were Adam Hunt and Jamie Martin.

Hunt overcame Keith Fletcher and Alan Davie to line-up his final spot against pairs partner James Forster, who had wins over Matty Willis, Liam Jones and G Goldsborough.

Jamie Martin showed good form against Micky Hoffman, Robbie Scott, and Chris Dobey to reach the second final, where he met Callan Rydz, who progressed past Alan Armstrong, Chris Bradley, and another up and coming youngster, Reece Aitman.

In first final, Forster started the better with 140, 100, and 95 securing the first leg.

Hunt hit back in style with a 14-dart game of 58, 123, 134. 145, and a 41 checkout,.

He went further ahead in a tight third leg, but Forster levelled before taking the lead back in a nervous fifth.

Scores of 134, 90, 85, and 103 were enough for Hunt to take the game to the deciding leg, and he took the spoils with 100, 96, 99, and checking out on 100.

The second final saw Martin go in front with 100, 100, 120, and 81 scores, and his experience showed against young opponent Rydz in the second leg with 100, 100, 100, and a 99 checkout.

He went further ahead with 100, 100, 81, and 99 before taking victory in a 20 darts leg despite a gallant effort from Rydz.