Hunt wins two finals to dominate week two of competition

In week two of the Ian Whillis Memorial trophy, Ian Dawson, Chris Dobey, Ryan Joyce and John Purcell contested the two finals on the night.

The first was a nip and tuck affair, Dobey taking the lead with a 15-dart leg before Dawson levelled with a 14-dart game only to see Dobey go back in front in an 18-dart leg.

A 14-dart game put Dawson back in the frame but Dobey took the next in 19 darts and went through to finals night in style with an 11-dart winning game.

The second final saw Joyce overcome Purcell in a nervous affair with both players not hitting their earlier form.

Joyce won with 18, 17, 19 and 19 dart legs.

In the Mark Williams Memorial week two, Adam Hunt, Gary Robson and Chris Dobey competed for the two finals night places.

The first final was between Hunt and Dobey. A 180 and 93 helped Dobey to an early lead, but two tons and a 140 saw Hunt level the tie in a 17-dart leg, and he went ahead with scores of 100 and 180 in another 17-dart game before completing the win with 137, 97 and 100.

The second final featured Robson and Hunt, with the latter starting proceedings with scores of 134, 140 and a 110 checkout in 15-darts.

Robson levelled in 16 darts including two 99s and a 140.

Hunt went ahead with a nervous third leg before Robson claimed the fourth with scores of 123, 140 and 121 in a 14-dart game.

But Hunt took his second final of the night with a 13-dart winning game.

Because Hunt won both finals on the night there was a play-off between Robson and Dobey for the second spot.

Seven consecutive 60s put Dobey on a nine-dart finish but he narrowly missed treble 19 but still secured the leg in 16 darts.

A tense second game saw Robson back on terms, but Dobey hit back with scores of 134, 97, 100 and 134 in 16 darts only to see Robson fire in a fabulous 12-dart game of 123, 125, 100 and a 153 checkout.

But Dobey was to have the final say, winning the deciding leg in 14 darts with 180, 100, 57 and 132 scores to claim a finals night place alongside Hunt.

Highest checkout went to Robson with 153.

Wednesday saw week one of the qualifiers at the new competition at the Blyth Comrades Club.

Thirty-nine entries saw some high class darts with Gordon Dobey and Paul Bell being the first two qualifiers of the competition.

Results from the Blyth Comrades Club Open – Final: Ryan Joyce 5 Callan Rydz 2; semi-finalists: Kenny Philipson and Phil Borthwick; Ladies champion: Carla Boyes; runner-up Claire Stainsby.

More details at