Knighton and Luke secure places in Ian Whillis Memorial finals

The fifth round of the Ian Whillis Memorial Trophy was hosted by Bedlington Station WMC on Monday night with 22 entrants.

Micky Luke and Paul Knighton carried their recent good form into this event, with Knighton having to fend off challenges from R Aitman, Michael Grieves, and Chris Dobey to set up a final against Graeme Stoddart, who had wins against Callan Rydz and Robbie Scott.

Luke had good victories over Keith Wright and Alan Davie to set up his final against Glen Scott, who overcame difficult games against Scott Jackson and Dean Wallace to reach his final.

The first final of the night saw Knighton take early control with 82, 121, 91, and a 100 score giving him the lead.

Two tons and a 140 increased his advantage and he went into a 3-0 with two tons and a 108 in the next leg.

Stoddart hit back with 100, 140, and a 70 check-out on the bull before Knighton secured his place with a 13-dart leg, hitting 82, 180, 61, 138 and double top.

Luke got off to a good start against Scott in final number two with two tons and a 85 helping him to a first leg lead.

Scott battled back with 87, 100, 133 scores to draw level, but Luke went ahead in a tricky third and increased his advantage with scores of 125, 91, and 140 before taking victory in the next leg, hitting 81, 121, and two tons.

In the Milton Anderson Memorial Ladies’ competition, Hilary Smith and Rachel Brown both qualified for finals night.

Smith beating Carol Rydz and Brown having a good win over Debbie Waugh.

Smith hit a 138 and Waugh a 180, while Jackie Smith recorded a 170 in an earlier game.