Last pair seal final places

THE Mark Williams Memorial Darts Trophy reached the last qualifying round on Thursday night.

And it was Dave Prins, Robbie Parker, Phil Borthwick and Kevin Guy who contested the final two remaining places for finals night.

All four had tough passages through their respective sections.

Prins had to see off Rob Stanley, Neil Rose, Arthur Dobey and Tony Eccles to set up a final against Parker.

He was also in the thick of things with wins over Kenny Dobson, John Watson, Davy Richardson and Steve Annan.

It was also tough for Borthwick and Guy with the former having to contend with Rose, Keith Fletcher, Chris Dobey and Dobson while Guy saw off Annan, Prins, Arthur Dobey and Tony Hardy.

The first final between Prins and Parker saw the former take the initiative with a 17-dart winning leg.

Parker responded with two tons and a 140 to level in a 16-dart leg.

Scores of 85, 100, 96 and 100 restored Prins’ advantage and he then clinched his place with a 16-dart winning game.

Borthwick set his stall out early against Guy with a 15-dart first leg. Although Guy was playing well he could not stop his opponent who won 3-0

Tonight is the non qualifiers competition with the grand finals on Thursday, August 23.

For more information contact Paul Smith on 07717 313089 or go to