Lee takes final race but James wins the series

Competition was fierce as Blyth Running Club held the final race in their Annual Winter Series.

On another good night for running there were 18 competitors who recorded season’s best times.

A total of 49 runners completed the race, which was won by Lee Simpson, who finished 14 seconds ahead of Alison Lowes, who herself was ten seconds clear of the fast finishing James Young in third – all three recording season’s bests.

15-year-old James improved his time by more than two minutes since the first race. He was the fastest finisher on the night in a time of 13:52 while Charlie Hedley (15:12) was the fastest female.

With the athletes’ best five positions counting in the individual league, first place went to James Young ahead of Adam Robinson with Joseph Dungworth and Ian Baxter tying for third place.

The team competition was won by Ralph Dickinson, Helen Bruce, Louise Douglas, James Young, Kath Young and Louise Coultate.

Blyth Juniors will be holding their annual handicap race at the beach car park at 7pm on Monday, April 22.

For more about Blyth Running Club email enquiries@blythrunningclub.co.uk or ring (01670) 363668.