Northumbria Vikings win division one battle with Hull

Northumbria Vikings skipper Gavin Parr leads into the first corner in the contest against Hull.
Northumbria Vikings skipper Gavin Parr leads into the first corner in the contest against Hull.

Against an under-strength Hull side missing key riders Andy Angell and Ben Swanborough, Northumbria Vikings cycle speedway team earned a 98-81 win.

The home side quickly raced into an early lead with a 6-4 followed by two 7-3 wins in the opening exchanges.

With Adam Stephenson riding as a tactical reserve for the visitors, they were able to pull back a little, taking a 7-3 of their own in heat eight as the two teams went into the interval with still a comfortable 12-point lead for the Vikings.

Heat ten saw David Cooper and Craig Boddice take a 7-3 to pull the scores closer, and with Stephenson again unleashed in heat 14 for another maximum to Hull, the scores were suddenly tightened up to just a four-point gap with just the closing four heats remaining.

But there was no crumbling from Northumbria with Jason Keith and Terry Kirkup flying ahead in the next race, followed by two more 7-3s from Mark Mulvey and Gavin Parr, then Michael Parr and Daniel Wharrier, to seal the match for the Vikings.

Vikings scorers: Gavin Parr 18+2, Michael Parr 17+1, Jason Keith 16+1, Mark Mulvey 15+1, Dan Redshaw 11, Daniel Wharrier 10+2, Terry Kirkup 9+2, Keith Oldham 2.

In the two team’s division two meeting, it was Hull who came out on top with a score of 88-61.

It was Northumbria’s turn to be a little under-strength, but junior riders Lewis Petre and Lee Redshaw made enthusiastic debuts with several home riders unavailable.

But Hull showed little mercy as Craig Boddice rode to a maximum with David Cooper also doing well to ride through the card unbeaten.

Dan Redshaw top scored for Vikings, narrowly missing out several times to the Hull heat leaders, while Daniel Wharrier, as in the division one match, carried no luck with several falls and mishaps as he battled throughout.

Vikings scorers: Dan Redshaw 16, Daniel Wharrier 10, Keith Oldham 8, Norman Carson 7+1, Lee Redshaw 7, Andy Knowles 6+3, Lewis Petre 4, Terry Kirkup 3.