Prins and Wright secure last spots in Williams finals night

Share this article

THE finals night line-up for the Mark Williams Memorial Darts Trophy, sponsored by the Newcastle Beer Company, is complete.

Thirty-seven players battled it out on the oche at Bedlington Station WMC for the two remaining places.

And Micky Luke, Dave Prins and Keith Wright saw this one down to the wire with Prins making his way to the fist final with wins over Jimmy Summers, Ian Arkle, Robbie Parker and Arthur Dobey.

Luke reached the evening’s final with victories over Keith Fletcher, Greg Falcus, Chris Dobey and Gareth Steel before winning a tough semi-final against an in-form Wright.

The second half of the draw saw Prins once again take centre stage with wins over Michael Gradwell and Summers setting him on his way.

There was then a breathtaking climax to his game against Parker. With the score at 2-2 and Parker hovering on a finish, Prins took out 167 on the bull – 60, 57, bull – to win.

He followed it up with wins over Falcus and Paul Bell in the semi to reach his second final of the night, which was against Wright.

Wins against John Young, Richie Camfield, Graham Fletcher, Arthur Dobey and a tough semi against Mark Wilson gave Wright the chance.

In the first final, Luke broke the deadlock and then took the second leg before Prins found his range and levelled the contest up.

And it was Prins who completed his comeback with a 14-dart game to go through.

Wright and Prins took to the oche for the second final, and after a tentative start Wright took the opening leg in 20 darts.

But Prins burst into action and took the next two before Wright’s never say die attitude levelled and then took the decider to book his place in finals night.

The finals take place tonight (Thursday), when there will also be the non-qualifiers competition for players who have not reached the finals.

Mark Williams Memorial Trophy qualifiers: Alan George, John Watson, Dave Gradwell, Paul Jennings, Gary Robson, Gordon Dobey, Steve Wanless, Ian Gleeson, Paul Williams, Paul Knighton, Alan Davie, Phil Borthwick, Mark Stephenson, Tony Wood, Dave Prins and Keith Wright.