Qualifiers get under way for darts competitions

Qualifying for the Ian Whillis Memorial Coors Open darts competition is under way with week one of eight taking place.

The first week’s qualifiers were Gordon Dobey and Matty Willis.

The competition, which has a first prize of £600, is played on Monday nights at Bedlington Station WMC and is open to all players. Registration is 7.30pm.

Meanwhile, another eight-week qualifying period started on Thursday night for the Mark Williams Memorial competition.

Ian Dawson, Ryan Joyce and James Forster featured in the finals of the first round.

The opening final of the night saw Joyce and Forster in action with the former kicking off with 180, 140, and 85 against two 140s and 100 scores from Forster before Joyce claimed the first leg in 15 darts.

He followed this up with a 20-dart leg including a 140 and 100 scores and he completed the win with 99, 98, 99 and 87 in a 16-dart winning game.

The second final featured Joyce again, this time against Dawson, but this time he would be on the back foot as Dawson took the first leg in 17 darts with two tons and a 126.

He added the second leg with a 140, 100 and 85 before securing the second final with a 15-dart winning game including 100, 180 and 134 scores as both Dawson and Joyce qualified for finals night.

The highest check out on the night with 148 came from Alan George.

Wednesday night of this week saw the first round of another competition run over eight qualifying weeks get under way at Blyth Comrades Club.

This one has £500 added to all entry monies taken, and on Saturday, June 27, an open competition played on eight boards with another £500 added.

For more information on the competitions at the Blyth Comrades Club, call Daz on 07725 419106.

All other details can be found on www.dartsnortheast.com