Region’s top darts players get ready for two trophies

THE quest for the 2011 Mark Williams Memorial Darts Trophy begins later this month at Bedlington Station WMC.

Reigning champion Davy Richardson will have to be on top form if he is to have any chance of retaining the prestigious trophy.

The event, which begins on Thursday, June 23, attracts the top players from Northumberland, Durham, Cleveland, Tyne and Wear and the Scottish Borders.

Previous winners include Phil Nixon, Glen Moody and Tab Hunter.

Alongside the former champions are a host of players who have gone close to winning, such as Gary Robson, Paul Knighton, Glen Durrant, Tony Eccles, Davy Dodds, Graeme Stoddart, Andy Lynn, Alan Davie and the in-form Paul Jennings, to mention a few who will be looking to have their name engraved on the trophy and picking up the guaranteed £1,000 first prize.

As usual it will be a 7.30pm registration for an 8pm start.

Meanwhile the Ian Whillis Memorial Trophy, sponsored by Coors Brewers, begins on Monday June 27, with Gary Robson defending his title.

He will once again be battling the region’s top players for the £600 first prize.

It has been a sad time for the local darts community with the death of Milton Anderson – a gentleman and good friend who will be missed by all who knew him.

A memorial trophy competition for ladies will be held in memory of Milton with a £250 added prize.

It begins on Monday, June 27, with a 7.30pm registration for an 8pm start.

For further information contact Bedlington Station WMC on (01670) 822440 or Paul Smith on 07717 313089.