Robson and Bell book place in darts finals night

Round two of the Ian Whillis Memorial Trophy darts tournament took place at the Bedlington Station WMC with 24 players contesting the two grand final places on offer.

And it was Arthur Dobey against Gary Robson, and Paul Bell against Ryan Joyce in the two finals on the night.

Fresh from his weekend triumph in the Granite City Darts Open, where he also reached the men’s pairs final, Robson was to keep that form with wins against Micky Hoffman, Glen Scot, and Ian Arkle, while Dobey who has also been in good form, saw off Chris Dobey, Callum Rydz, and Graeme Stoddart to set up the first half final.

The second final of the night featured Bell, who saw off Sean Rogerson, and Micky Luke to set up to set up his game against Joyce, who made his way past Michael Grieves, and Robbie Scott to make the final.

Robson set about the first half final in grand style with 95, 100, 100, 174, and double 16 in a 13-dart game to claim the first leg, but poor finishing would cost him the lead as Dobey finished in 22 darts.

Robson came back on song with 100, 85, and 140 scores helping him to a 19-dart leg, three tons and an 81 took Robson further ahead and he wrapped up the game with 140, 100, and 105 scores in his 4-1 win.

Bell also kicked off well against Joyce with scores of 135, 87, and 100 in a 17-dart opener.

He then took the second leg in 19 darts, and although Joyce was starting to get into the game he could not match Bell’s scoring power as 140, 100, 85, 100, and 76 in 15 darts made it 3-0 as he claimed his place on finals with a slightly nervous last leg of 21 darts.

The second round of the Milton Anderson Memorial Ladies’ competition also took place and Julie Thompson and Geraldine Jones qualified for finals night.

Thompson gained wins over Carol Rydz, Joy Wanless, and Jackie Smith while Jones had wins over Mandy Smith, and Yvonne Spowart.