Robson takes Ian Whillis Memorial darts trophy

Share this article

Alan George, Adam Hunt, Gary Robson and Paul Bell were the top performers at Monday night’s Ian Whillis Memorial darts competition finals evening.

In the semi-finals, George had a good win against Hunt with heavy scoring and smart finishing taking the game 4-0.

Robson was also on top form in his semi-final against Bell with another 4-0 score line in legs of 15, 14, 11, and 14 darts.

Robson continued his good form into the final with two tons, 81 and a 100 checkout to take the first leg.

Another two tons and a 180 in a 17-dart game increased his advantage, and he took a 3-0 lead with scores of 85, 100, 99 and 100, even though George had been on terms throughout the match.

Robson was virtually unstoppable and more scores of 134, 80,180 and a 65 checkout gave him the fourth leg, and he rounded off a great night of darts with 140, 140, 78, 102 and checking out on 41 in a 14-dart championship winning game to collect the £600 first prize.

The organisers gave a big thank you to all the players, LWC and Bedlington station WMC for their sponsorship and NCJ Media and for their support.

Meanwhile in the Mark Williams Memorial competition on Thursday night, Chris Dobey, Davy Gradwell, Adam Hunt and Davy Dodds reached the semi-finals.

Dobey came out on top in his early games against Alan George and Phil Borthwick while Gradwell fought off Paul Bell and Andy Chalmers.

Dodds had to be on top form to see off Davy Richardson and Ryan Joyce while Adam Hunt took advantage of a first round bye with Paul Knighton being unavailable due to illness and then defeated an in-form Gary Robson in a thrilling 4-3 victory.

In the semi-finals. Hunt took on Dodds with the former coming back from 2-0 down to take the game 4-2.

In the second semi-final, Dobey came back from a 3-0 deficit to beat Gradwell 4-3.

The best of nine legs final saw Hunt go ahead with two tons and a 180 in a 20-dart opener.

Dobey levelled in a 14-dart game with 140, 100, 57, 140 and a 64 check out.

Hunt restored the lead with scores of 140, 100 and 96 in a 16-dart leg only to see Dobey hit back with a 15-dart leg of 100, 60, 180, 129 and 32 to make the game square.

Scores of 140 and 100 in a 20-dart game gave Dobey the lead for the first time in the final, which he added to with a 17-dart game with two tons and a 140 before checking out on 52.

He went on to secure his victory with scores of 140, 83, 100, 140 and double 19 in a 15-dart winning game to claim the champions title and the £1,000 first prize.

In the sponsored youth competition, Callum Rydz and Callan Dawson came through their semi-finals against Reece Aitman and Chris Bradley to take their chances in the final, which the in-form Rydz won 4-0.

Organisers thanked all the players and the sponsors, LWC,, NCJ Media and Bedlington Station WMC for their support.