Robson wins two finals to secure his place

Share this article

The latest round of the Mark Williams Memorial darts tournament resumed on Thursday with 28 top players looking for a place in the grand final.

And it was Phil Borthwick, Gary Robson, and Chris Dobey who took centre stage on the night.

Robson was in splendid form with wins against Ian Simpson, Chris Dobey, Graeme Stoddart, and Cumbrian captain Andy Goodfellow.

Meanwhile Borthwick was showing good form against Paul Bell, Graham Beggie, Michael Gradwell and Graham Fletcher to give him a chance to play Robson in the first final of the night.

In the second half of the draw, Dobey was the one to watch with victories over Danny Boyle, Liam Jones, Keith Fletcher, and Ian Arkle and would meet Robson in this final.

Robson getting the better of Dave Turnbull, Chris Bradley, Joe Gaffney and Graham Fletcher, who would have the highest checkout of the night hitting 170.

The first final was nip and tuck with both players not giving an inch.

An 18-dart leg from Robson including a 180 and a 72-checkout to give him the lead.

Then scores of 118, 96, 134, and 80 helped him to increase the advantage.

Borthwick hit back with 96, 180, and 80 before taking out a 13-dart stunner, 180, 140, 81, 80, double ten, to level it up.

But Robson was not to be phased and punished Borthwick with scores of 96, 180, 140, 69, double 16 in a 14-dart leg to book his place on finals night.

Robson started the second final in similar fashion with 140, 96, 140, 105 and 20 in 14 darts to take the lead.

But 137, 125, and 80 scores from Dobey levelled the game.

But Robson’s 121, 95, and 100 regained him the lead and he took the game in style with scores of 180, 60, 180, and 81 checkout in an 11-dart thriller and a second final win.

This meant Dobey and Borthwick would have to play-off for the second qualifying place.

Borthwick was quick off the blocks and a 115 finish gave him an early lead.

Dobey hit back with 180, 100, 45 100 and 76 to level the game in 14 darts.

Borthwick once again took the lead with sores of 140, 60, 100, 165 and 36 in another 14-dart leg.

However, Dobey, with scores of 121,100,and a 140, made the scores level again.

But Borthwick would complete his win scoring 140, 100, 140, 80 and 41 in 15 darts to claim his place on finals night.