Running club hands out annual awards

Blyth Running Club's Juniors winners Jake Jansen, Scott and Ryan Povey, Calum Storey, Emma Freeman and Charley Hedley.
Blyth Running Club's Juniors winners Jake Jansen, Scott and Ryan Povey, Calum Storey, Emma Freeman and Charley Hedley.
Share this article

BLYTH Running Club held their annual presentation night at the Seahorse pub with more than 120 members and guests in attendance to see club chairman Kevin Freeman make the presentations.

Every year Blyth organise their own Grand Prix Leagues, which consist of nine races with the runners divided into leagues according to ability, with best six scores counting towards positions.

Division one was tight between Robbie Barkley and Peter Brown, but the latter’s non-appearance at the final race due to injury allowed Barkley a comfortable run to give him victory on the day and also in the division by one point. Steve Walker finished third.

Barkley won five of the races while Brown took three.

Division two was just as competitive, and although Graeme Stewart was the first runner back in the final race, it was not enough to overtake Steve Gillespie who won by four points with Shaun Dodd a further four behind in third.

Division three was another close affair, with Dave Bradley guaranteed first place, winning by two points.

Heather Christopher, Dave Cox and Ian Baxter were battling for the remaining top three places in the final race.

Christopher had a good run at Brampton, winning on the day to give her second. Baxter managed to beat Cox by one place at Brampton, resulting in a tie for third.

Although just as competitive, division four was easily won by Julie Lemin, who was first back in the six counting races, while second placed Ron Ingram had a two point advantage over Claire Riches in third.

In division five, Phillippa Baxter had a clean sweep in finishing first in every race, giving her a healthy lead over second placed Heather Barrass, with Sharon Richardson third.

The leading Vets in the Grand Prix were all presented trophies and these went to Joe Frazer, Terry McCabe, Cath Young, Davina Lonsdale and Joanne Straughan.

Age-related trophies went to Cath Young with Terry McCabe second and Dave Cox and Robbie Barkley joint third.

The trophies for the club’s annual handicaps were also presented and the seniors was won by Julie Lemin, with Alison Lowes in second and Louise Rawlinson in third, Andrew Henderson collected the fastest male trophy and Julie Clarke fastest female.

Daniel Ord won the junior handicap, with Ryan Povey second and Sam Lawson third.

Jake Jansen collected the fastest boy trophy, while Charlotte Ramsay was fastest girl.

The seven individual race winners of the Winter Series received a Yellow T-shirt – Jordan Wright, Kenn Turnbull, Richard Shillinglaw, Rachelle Falloon, Emma Freeman, Jordan Middlemist and Stephanie Ramsay.

The overall series winner was junior member Charley Hedley, with another junior, Calum Story, in second, while junior member Lois Kankowski tied for third with Dave Roberts.

The four club captains made their selections in several categories and these awards went to Craig Birch for ‘Outstanding Track and Field Athlete’, Dave Bradley received the trophy for ‘Outstanding Distance Runner’, while Emma Freeman picked up the award for ‘Outstanding Cross Country Runner’.

Finally, the members also voted for their Sports Personality of 2010.

This award was won by junior co-ordinator Keith Willshire. The junior Personality for 2010 was won by Scott Povey.