Wright and Stevenson qualfiy for finals night

ROUND two of the Ian Whillis Memorial Trophy took place at Bedlington Station WMC with 24 darts players looking to fill two finals night spots.

Darren Shields, Adam Young and Micky Luke would all fall victim to Keith Wright, who was in sparkling form.

Meanwhile John Stevenson was at his best to beat Arthur Dobey and Greg Falcus after a first round bye at the same time as Rob Stanley and Gordon Dobey were picking off their opponents one by one to reach the finals.

Stanley came up against Wright in the first final but he could not match the power scoring and accurate finishing that Wright was to produce.

The second final would see Dobey and Stevenson fight it out.

Four consecutive tons from Dobey in the first leg put him in front but Stevenson picked up a gear to take the second and third legs.

He then missed a chance at double top to take the win but Dobey was not going to give him another chance at it and checked out to level the score at two all.

Once again this seemed to spur on Stevenson who hit two 180s in the final leg to take victory.

Qualifiers: Keith Wright and John Stevenson.

The Milton Anderson Memorial Darts Trophy tournament for ladies, sponsored by Coors Brewers, brought 16 ladies to the oche at Bedlington Station WMC.

The two qualifiers for finals night were Margaret Flynn and Debbie Waugh.

Flynn gaining victories against Jacqueline Smith, Karen Sydney and Liz Kelly, while Waugh was on form against Rachel Brown, Carol Rydz and Chris Caldow.

Qualifiers: Debbie Waugh and Margaret Flynn.

For more information contact Bedlington Station WMC on (01670) 822440 or Paul Smith on 07717 313089.