Wright secures Mark Williams Memorial non qualifiers title

The Mark Williams Memorial Darts Trophy non qualifiers finals saw 28 players looking to secure the title.

Keith Wright, Mark Stephenson and Paul Bell were in contention at the end of the night along with Paul Knighton, who made his way to the first half final with wins over Nigel Watson, Joe Gaffney, John Young and Mark Stephenson.

Bell was also in good form with wins against Lee Williams, Matty Whillis, Graeme Stoddart and Ritchie Abbot, producing a ten darter in one leg 180, 140, 145, and double 18 to take his chance against Knighton.

The second final of the night saw Mark Stephenson against the in-form Wright.

Stephenson had wins against Stoddart, Williams, Andy Kelly, and Allen George, while Wright triumphed over Liam Jones, Knighton, John Young, and Graham Vose, which also featured a 164 finish by Wright.

The first final saw Bell take an early lead with 96 and 180 scores helping him along to a 17-dart leg.

More consistent darts took him further ahead in a 20-dart leg and he completed his victory in 15 darts with 90, 100, 140, 100, and 71 checkout in a 3-0 win.

Wright took the second final of the night by the scruff of the neck, kicking off with two tons and a 130 clock out on the bulls eye.

He added to Stephenson’s woes with scores of 140, 140,180 and went 2-0 in 15 darts.

Scores of 100, 60, 180, 82, and a finish of 79 in 15 darts gave him victory and his chance to play Bell to claim the title.

The two finalists started hesitantly but Wright weathered the early storm and two tons and a 97 gave him the early advantage.

This seemed to settle him down, and although Bell was scoring well, Wright hit the big scores at the right times.

A 100 and a 140 helped him to a 2-0 lead before closing the proceedings with a 135 and a 110 finish in the leg to claim the title from a worthy opponent.

The grand finals will take place on Thursday, August 15, at Bedlington Station WMC.